menuApp: A Wonderful Free Utility

Wow! This little software is just fantastic. I dare to say it’s one of the best (including those expensive commercials) utilities I’ve come across. The idea behind menuApp is simple but so powerful. From the website:

menuApp is an application which allows you to configure menus and use them to launch your favourite programs, music files, documents, websites, etc.

Its fast, doesn’t hog a lot of resource and is easy to setup and use (so long as you can handle a text editor).

What’s more, it doesn’t drop any extraneous files on your system and it stays well clear of the registry.”

First, download this ultra light zip file (only 32Kb). Then, unzip that file anywhere you wish, preferably to Program Files folder. I’ll make a menu on the desktop which will allow me to browse in my photoshop folder which is located in my D drive and contains lots of actions, brushes and all that related to Adobe Photoshop software.

Go to where you unzipped menuApp software (I placed in C:\Program Files\). Right-click on menuApp.exe file and choose Send To, Desktop (create shortcut):

menuapp_1-400-x-334.jpg

This is the file on the desktop:

menuapp_2.jpg

This the menu that appears when I right-click:

menuapp_3.jpg

Click properties, this is what you see:

menuapp_5.jpg

Now comes the important bit: Find the box which says “Start in” as marked above. That’s where you will type which folders menu you want your menu to list. So when I click the shortcut I’ve just created I’ll see my photoshop folder as a browsable menu (with all the relevant submenus also available as menus), as shown below (to make things easier for myself I’ve changed the shortcut’s name to _Photoshop):

menuapp_6.jpg

Obviously, you can do whatever you want, wherever you want. The program is capable of many more things and there’s a brief Help file provided.

I’m quite surprised that not many people are aware of this wonderful software, anyhow at least, now, you will know.

Well done guys, my hat is off to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Software Review

Leave a Reply

