Bits ‘n’ Pieces

Restore Firefox Tabs

Is this funny or what. Before Internet Explorer 7 (IE7) I used to surf internet with IE6 from time to time; otherwise Firefox was my default browser. Now, I just use Firefox (2.0.0.1) 100%. The supposedly clever guys in Microsoft just screwed things up completely. After years and years of silence they came up with something barely compatable with Firefox. It has nothing revolutionary at all. What is worse, the seemingly new UI is simply awful.

Well, IE7 has nothing to with this entry but I just had shout that out.

When working with Firefox I sometimes need to close it (to restart the computer immediately or something in the same vain) and naturally I want restart Firefox and continue from where I left off. If Firefox had crashed I’d be protected but not otherwise. Thankfully, there is a solution. Now, you can reload all your tabs, always.

1. Type about:config in the address bar and press Enter.

2. Now, right-click in the browser window and select New >> Boolean.

3. A box will appear. In this box, type browser.sessionstore.resume_session and click Ok.

4. Now set the value as True and click Ok.

5. Go to Tools >> Options.

6. Under Startup, select When Firefox starts, and set Show my windows and tabs from last time and click Ok.

That’s it and you are done. (from Tech Xpress)

Top WebOS Reviewed

Here’s a useful review of almost all web based so called operating systems in the market. I suggest you have a peek.

Blue-ray, anyone ?

This guy makes a good point about why I hate Blue-ray and Sony.

HD, anyone ?

Well, since Blue-ray is suckers-bet, how about High-Definition DVD. It’s better for sure. But… rest here.

Process Scanner

Now or then you’ll hear your hard-drive spinning like mad-ball and you just don’t know why. Other times, you may experience your computer start-up (or shut-down) takes ages. Mostly, you’ll start to experience an over-all slow down in time. The possible reasons are endless. Anti-virus and anti-spyware softwares helps but from time to time you still need to go to task-manager and observe what the heck is happening inside. There are many free utilities specificaly for this job (like WITS) but now we have something even better: An online service scanning and reporting us about all the processes going inside your computer. Bookmark Process Scanner for you’re sure to use it in near future.

Logos And Their Meanings

Here’s good link where some famous logos and the ideas behind them explained. You’ll like it.

2 Comments

Filed under News, Tips & Tricks, Web 2.0

2 responses to “Bits ‘n’ Pieces

  1. BogeyWebDesign

    Since switching to Firefox 2 and loosing the app – I think it was called session saver – that particular annoyance (not reloading my tabs) has been driving me nuts.

    I tried your trick, and it works. I think you’re my new favorite blog.

  2. Since switching to Firefox 2 and loosing the app – I think it was called session saver – that particular annoyance (not reloading my tabs) has been driving me nuts.

    I tried your trick, and it works. I think you’re my new favorite blog.

Leave a Reply

